Pin on Pinterest
20221001 Southlake Carroll XC Chile Pepper

Carroll Boys Win Chile Pepper XC Festival

Girls Finish Second; JV teams compete at The Reunion Run


FAYETTEVILLE, Arkansas, and DECATUR, Texas – The Southlake Carroll boys cross country team won the Chile Pepper XC Festival in Fayetteville, Arkansas, Saturday morning. Junior Jude Alvarez led the way, finishing ninth overall with a time of 15:16. The girls, led by senior Ava Bushaw (3rd, 17:30), finished second.

“This was a great win for our young men today,” Southlake Carroll Head Coach Justin Leonard said. “This event always attracts some of the best high school teams in the region, and coming out on top is a great way to finish our regular season. The girls battled hard too, and I feel good about our teams heading into the District meet, which is on our home course. We’ll be ready to go.”

Senior Logan Cantu was the Dragons’ second runner in the boys’ race, finishing in 15:26, good for 16th place. Fellow senior Robert Freeman was next (21st, 15:30), followed by freshman Caden Leonard (22nd, 15:31) and sophomore Blake Bullard (26th, 15:34).

On the girls’ side, junior Sylvia Schwedler finished 12th with a time of 17:57, followed by senior Audrey Dunn (15th, 18:02), sophomore Elizabeth Smits (21st, 18:18) and senior Natalie Ng (36th, 18:40).

A complete list of the Dragons’ Chile Pepper XC Festival finishers follows.

While the varsity runners were in Arkansas, the JV teams competed at The Reunion Run at Joe Wheeler Park in Decatur.

Mia Tesoriero led the way for the girls with a time of 20:15, good for a 13th-place finish. She was followed by Kylee Cusick (18th, 20:24), Mia Dunagan (24th, 20:42), Riley Higginbotham (43rd, 21:42) and Ashley Cusick (44th, 21:45).

In the boys’ races, Tino Ross was the Dragons’ top finisher (13th, 16:59), followed by Caleb Lo (18th, 17:11), Bilal Saadi (23rd, 17:19), Ethan Thomas (25th, 17:24) and Grayer Bates (41st, 17:52).

Next up for the Dragons is the District 4-6A Championship at Bob Jones Park on Oct. 13. The boys are the 12-time defending district champions, and the girls have won three consecutive district titles.



Runners in bold counted toward the final team score

Chile Pepper BOYS Results

9            Jude Alvarez                15:16

16         Logan Cantu                 15:26

21         Robert Freeman          15:30

22         Caden Leonard            15:31

26         Blake Bullard               15:34

37          Tyler Ortiz                    15:43

55          Griffin Cords                 15:58

58          Alex Severson               15:59

74          Zach Troutman             16:05

78          Brady Golomb              16:07

81          Jack Litwin                   16:08

82          Ryan Van De Berghe     16:08

95          David Fisher                 16:14

141       John Adam Kieda          16:40

170       Carter Haskell               16:52

190       Ryan Krasinski              17:00


Chile Pepper GIRLS Results

3            Ava Bushaw               17:30

12         Sylvia Schwedler       17:57

15         Audrey Dunn              18:02

21         Elizabeth Smits          18:18

36         Natalie Ng                   18:40

37          Sarayu Veluri               18:41

40          Charlotte Martin           18:54

41          Ryann Flores               18:54

48          Gabriella Tesoriero       19:06

52          Mia Lay                      19:10

78          Luna Gutierrez            19:29

83          Hannah McIlvain         19:35

114       Avery Anderson            20:03

120       Vanessa Vezga             20:10

189       Julia Gassett                20:49

Recognize 1158 Views
Related Posts