September 4, 2021


Dragon Boys Victorious at Marcus Coach T Invitational

Southlake Carroll girls take second


DENTON, TX – The Southlake Carroll boys cross country team won its second consecutive meet to open the 2021 season, taking first place at the Marcus Coach T Invitational at North Lakes Park on Saturday morning. The girls squad finished second, behind defending state champion Flower Mound. 


“This meet is always one of the most competitive of the season, and I’m proud of how our runners responded,” Southlake Carroll Head Coach Justin Leonard said. “The heat definitely had an impact on the times, but our young men and women fought through it and raced well.”


In the varsity elite boys race, junior Robert Freeman paced the Dragons with a time of 16:09, good for a fourth-place finish and leading Southlake Carroll to a 16-point win over second-place Plano West. Freeman was followed by junior David Fisher (7th, 16:19), junior Hunter Hill (8th, 16:22), sophomore Jude Alvarez (17th, 16:38) and junior Vivek Reddy (19th, 16:42).


Senior Kaylie Cox was the Dragons’ top runner in the girls elite varsity race, finishing 4th overall with a time of 18:16. Following Cox were junior Ava Bushaw (10th, 19:17), junior Audrey Dunn (12th, 19:23), sophomore Alexandra Walsh (18th, 19:51) and sophomore Sylvia Schwedler (19th, 19:55).


In the boys varsity open competition, the Dragons cruised past second-place Plano West, as Carroll’s top three runners finished first, second and third overall. Freshman Blake Bullard won gold in 16:58, followed by senior Aidan Denk (2nd, 17:02) and junior Dylan Fisher (3rd, 17:14). Junior Bilal Saadi (5th, 17:30) and senior Blayne Williams (6th, 17:32) rounded out the scoring for the Dragons.


Freshman Elizabeth Smits won the girls varsity open race in 20:06, leading the Dragons to a 15-point victory over host Marcus. Julia Gassett finished 5th in 20:31, followed by junior Anna Hall (8th, 20:41), senior Mckaylee McAdoo (10th, 20:59) and sophomore Lily Garland (11th, 21:05).


Sophomore Elizabeth Knight won the girls JV elite race, with a time of 21:25. Freshman Lucas Underwood was the top Dragon in the boys JV elite race, finishing 3rd in 18:40


After an off week next weekend, the Dragons will return to action on Saturday, September 18. The varsity teams will compete at the Woodbridge XC Classic in Norco, CA, and the JV teams will run in the Paschal Invitational in Fort Worth.



Runners in bold counted toward the final team score


Boys Varsity Elite Results

4          Robert Freeman      16:09

7          David Fisher             16:19

8          Hunter Hill               16:22

17       Jude Alvarez             16:38

19       Vivek Reddy             16:42

29       Welles McDevitt          17:00

34       Tyler Ortiz                  17:06

51       Jack Litwin                 17:37


Girls Varsity Elite Results

4          Kaylie Cox               18:16

10       Ava Bushaw              19:17

12       Audrey Dunn            19:23

18       Alexandra Walsh     19:51

19       Sylvia Schwedler     19.55

20       Natalie Ng                  20:01

21       Kristin Mader              20:03

23       Olivia Jones                20:04

33       Lauren Lund              20:27  

39       Mia Tesoriero             20:48


Boys Varsity Open Results

1          Blake Bullard           16:58

2          Aiden Denk               17:02

3          Dylan Fisher             17:14

5          Bilal Saadi                 17:30

6          Blayne Williams        17:32

7          Alex Severson             17:37

8          Zach Troutman          17:41

12       Ryan VandeBerghe      17:50

14       Jeremy Kogan              17:53

30       J.J. Pino                       18:31

32       Tino Ross                    18:35


Girls Varsity Open Results

1          Elizabeth Smits        20:06

5          Julia Gassett             20:31

8          Anna Hall                  20:41

10       Mckaylee McAdoo      20:59

11       Lily Garland               21:05

13       Hannah McIlvain         21:06

15       Mie-Ava Anderson      21:17

16       Kylie Cusick                21:17

21       Libby Cravens            21:42

32       Courtney Hatcher       22:06

33       Gabriella Tesoriero     22:11

35       Brynn Floreano           22:17

Recognize 1874 Views
Related Posts