Pin on Pinterest
Hunter Hill (Jr., Southlake Carroll)


August 28, 2021


Dragons Sweep Southlake Invitational

Hill, Cox lead varsity elite; Denk, Smits pace varsity open


Southlake, TX – The Southlake Carroll boys and girls cross country teams opened the 2021 season by sweeping all four varsity races at the Southlake Invitational at Bob Jones Park on Saturday morning. Junior Hunter Hill was the Dragons’ top male finisher, with a time of 15:40, and senior Kaylie Cox led the girls’ squad with a third-place overall finish in 17:35. 


“This was a good start to our season” Southlake Carroll Head Coach Justin Leonard said. “We’re returning most of last year’s top girls, and Kaylie picked up right where she left off. On the boys side, a lot of last year’s top runners graduated, and I was really pleased to see how well the newer faces ran today.”


In the varsity elite boys race, Hill’s 15:40 was good for a 15th-place overall finish, leading the Dragons to a 44-point victory over second-place Denton. He was followed by junior David Fisher (18th, 15:48), junior Robert Freeman (20th, 15:52), sophomore Jude Alvarez (23rd, 15:58) and junior Vivek Reddy (32nd, 16:08).


The girls varsity elite squad edged second-place Austin Vandegrift by 26 points. Following Cox were junior Audrey Dunn (6th, 17:49), junior Ava Bushaw (15th, 18:36), senior Olivia Jones (16th, 18:37) and sophomore Sylvia Schwedler (20th, 18:57).


In the varsity open competition, the Dragon boys cruised past second-place Rockwall, led by senior Aidan Denk, who finished 5th overall with a time of 16:53. Junior Dylan Fisher crossed the finish line in an even 17 minutes, finishing sixth, followed by sophomore Ryan Van De Berghe (8th, 17:05), freshman Blake Bullard (10th, 17:07) and junior Bilal Saadi (16th, 17:21).


In the girls varsity open race, freshman Elizabeth Smits finished in 19:46, good for an 8th-place finish and leading the Dragons to a 39-point win over Keller Timber Creek. Junior Hannah McIlvain (16th, 20:06), senior Mckaylee McAdoo (19th, 20:09), sophomore Kylee Cusick (25th, 20:26) and junior Anna Hall (26th, 20:26) rounded out the scoring.


Freshman James Garcia was the top Carroll runner in the boys JV elite race, finishing ninth in 18:10. Ryann Flores was the top Dragon in the girls JV elite race, finishing in 21:32, good for seventh place.


The Dragons will return to action on Saturday, Sept. 4, when they compete in the Coach T Invitational at North Lakes Park in Denton.



Runners in bold counted toward the final team score


Boys Varsity Elite Results

15       Hunter Hill               15:40

18       David Fisher             15:48

20       Robert Freeman      15:52

23       Jude Alvarez             15:58

32       Vivek Reddy             16:08

37       Logan Cantu              16:18

38       Welles McDevitt        16:20

45       Tyler Ortiz                  16:22

100     Jack Litwin                 17:00


Girls Varsity Elite Results

3          Kaylie Cox                 17:35

6          Audrey Dunn            17:49

15       Ava Bushaw              18:36

16       Olivia Jones              18:37

20       Sylvia Schwedler     18.57

23       Alexandra Walsh       19:01

25       Natalie Ng                  19:06

32       Kristin Mader            19:08

36       Mia Tesoriero             19:17  

41       Julia Gassett               19:22

53       Lauren Lund              19:43

61       Lily Garland               19:53


Boys Varsity Open Results

5          Aiden Denk               16:53

6          Dylan Fisher             17:00

8          Ryan VanDeBerghe 17:05

10       Blake Bullard           17:07

16       Bilal Saadi                 17:21

17       Zach Troutman          17:21

18       J.J. Pino                         17:22

35       Tino Ross                    17:45

49       Alex Severson              18:01

53       Andrew Nystrom       18:08

74       Lucas Underwood     18:33

87       Raahem Siddiqui       18:44

105     Jason McCarthy         18:56


Girls Varsity Open Results

8          Elizabeth Smits        19:46

16       Hannah McIlvain     20:06

19       Mckaylee McAdoo   20:09

25       Kylee Cusick             20:26

26       Anna Hall                  20:26

35       Libby Cravens           20:48

39       Brynn Floreano         20:53

42       Courtney Hatcher     20:54

43       Gabriella Tesoriero   20:56

44       Elizabeth Knight       20:57

52       Charlotte Martin       21:02

57       Mie-Ava Anderson    21:09

66       Gabby Dugger           21:21

139     Ella Djerf                    22:42

Recognize 961 Views